So this is what doing science is all about…

This week has been the introduction to what being a scientific researcher means. I know it’s only a second year BSc project, but it is hopefully the start of what is to come.

I’ve had a heath and safety induction. It’s almost a shame that such measures are necessary in today’s society that we must be warned not to touch things on fire. Yet across business, education, life and science, health and safety is at the forefront of our experience.

I’ve also got to grips with some of the software I will be analysing the salamander videos with. Pretty complex stuff! MATLAB is a new package to me, but very clever in its execution. I’m yet to convert the data points I can produce into manipulative, meaningful numbers yet, but that will come during the research.

And, finally, I am endlessly reading and reviewing the literature surrounding salamander biology, ontogeny and locomotion. I expected a mountain to climb, but sifting through an avalanche of white sheets of research feels like fighting an uphill battle. The top is still not in sight, in fact, I may still be at base camp. I’m enjoying it, but using this blog as a momentary reclamation of a free mind, without feeling guilty of being unproductive. As my understanding grows, I’m even more eager to get stuck into the science!

Flights to Oviedo, Spain, are on Wednesday. I’ll hopefully update whilst there. Adiós!

Leave a Reply

